Sunday, August 31, 2014

Pucker up for the West Montrose "Kissing Bridge."

   One-Tank Trip for August 30/14

   (c) By Jim Fox

   Visitors are invited to come and validate the long-standing nickname of the West Montrose Covered Bridge as the “kissing bridge.”
   The heritage structure – Ontario’s only remaining covered bridge – is part of a heritage walking tour during Doors Open Waterloo Region on Sept 20.
   Built in 1881, it was “appropriately nicknamed due to the intimacy and privacy that the covered bridge offered its travellers,” Canada’s Historic Places says.
Tours will be given around the West Montrose “Kissing Bridge” in September. (Jim Fox photo)
   The iconic one-lane structure is located in one of the province’s most picturesque landscapes as it spans about 60 metres (198 feet) across the Grand River.
   It also represents the early history of Woolwich Township and of an earlier time in the village about 20 minutes north of Kitchener-Waterloo.
   The walking tours of 45 minutes leave at 11 a.m., 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. from Letson Park at Rivers Edge Drive and Letson Drive.
   Along with the bridge and the nearby Lost Acres Variety store and bakery, the walk includes West Montrose village, one of Ontario’s first recognized Cultural Heritage Landscapes.
   The bridge with its red-painted wood panelling and gable roof was designed by local contractor John Bear and built with his brother Benjamin as a replacement for an earlier open bridge at that site.
West Montrose “Kissing Bridge.” (Jim Fox photo)
For complete story, go to:

No comments:

Post a Comment